Christmas, Vidette, Georgia, 1981   1 comment

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This post is related to Memories of Vidette, Georgia; Vidette United Methodist Church Parsonage, Vidette, Georgia; and Site of the Former Parsonage, Vidette United Methodist Church, Vidette, Georgia.

This afternoon, while sorting through the family archives again, I found this photograph, from Christmas 1981.

We see a portion of the den, a narrow and long room in the middle of one side of the small house, with a view into the dining room, a space of which I have little recollection.  The closed-up fireplace with the mantle, for example, surprises me.  I am, however, thinking about a space I left in June 1982, at the age of nine years, so I have a valid excuse.

I remember much in this photograph, however.  I recall the old-style cabinet television set, with the infamous needle-nose pliers, for changing the channel, vividly.  How could I forget the infernal needle-nose pliers?  I also remember the shelves above the television well.  I also recall that, in Vidette, we had few channels–three networks and PBS.  I remember that that there was often little worth watching on those.  There remains little worth watching today.  The main difference is the greater number of channels.

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

JULY 31, 2017 COMMON ERA

One response to “Christmas, Vidette, Georgia, 1981

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Vidette United Methodist Church Parsonage, January 29, 2015 | SUNDRY THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

